Passion. Wildlife. Photography. Trekking.

Image

New Life

For those of you who are following this blog, wondering if I’m still alive, let me dispel your doubts on the subject and tell you that I am and very much so! Alive and kicking for all the right reasons too! πŸ™‚ The last seven months have been one hell of a ride and have resulted in my making a life changing decision. The decision being: I quit my day job and turned to a full-time photographer, freelancer and a traveler.

This is exactly what I have wished for all my life, but to say that it was an easy choice would be a far shot. After months of clocking in with the rest of the corporate world, wishing to be out in the wild while sitting in front of my computer, day after day, in anticipation of my next steady paycheck, lots of deliberation and debating with my family later, I realized the only thing left to do was to take that leap of faith. Sticking with a safe job is an easy decision, especially because it means a steadiness that is considered good based on the collective societal belief impressed upon us. Taking a risk on the other hand, comes with a risk. (Duh!) I am happier having taken this route as it means staying true to myself even if it means missing the perk of a fixed moolah at the end of each month and high speed internet acess. (I won’t lie, I dreadfully miss it.:P)

Living the life of a freelance photographer comes with its share of challenges. If I had imagined being self-employed would be tough, the first five months have asserted that through reality. Paying the bills is still a priority as is learning. In this quest, my aim is to get exposed to as many forms of the art as possible. My passion lies with wildlife photography, but I am also working in parallel on commercial photo shoots and travel photography. That being said, it is important to me that the aesthetic of this art is preserved irrespective of the forum.

For my first photo shoot, I had the opportunity of clicking an adorable baby girl, Sameksha and was rather pleased with how I did.
Also tried my hand at wedding photography for my cousin Prashant, who gave me my first camera.Β  Although they liked my clicks, personally I felt I could have done better.
Another wedding assignment followed this and here my learning from the previous shoot, helped me do better.

I did an assignment for a leading travel firm to shoot hotels and resorts in Pondicherry, mangalore and Bangalore. It was fun to work and a great learning experience.

I ventured out into capturing portraits and here are a few clicks.
This month I had a chance to shoot at the Enchanted Valley Carnival where there were about 60 artists performing at Aamby Valley. The experience overall was very rewarding and I got to shoot some biggies like Indian Ocean, ATB and Taio Cruz etc. You can check out the pictures here.

Take a look at my website( http://www.bhargavshandilya.in )Β  here. The gallery is not fully up yet, but will approach completion in a few days time.
I am always open to feedback , so Feel free to leave your comments.

So if any of you are looking for a photographer don’t even consider going elsewhere. I’m your man! :D:D (All the publicity aside, I’m a really nice person to work with.:P)

If you like my work, then please do share it with your family and friends πŸ™‚

Powder Puff flower in bloomHappy new year, have a colorful year ahead πŸ™‚

2 responses

  1. All the best for your journey..

    January 1, 2014 at 5:55 pm

Please let me know what you think, Thank you.